The Six Types of Tea

Essential knowledge to understand the differences between tea types and how they are made.


There are 6 strict categories or types of tea:

The sole determining factor in deciding the type of tea is the PROCESSING of the leaves. The variety of tea plant is not the defining factor although of course some varieties are considered to be more suitable to certain tea types. For example the Da Bai cultivar is well known for producing fabulous White tea but its leaves could be used to make any tea theoretically.

In this video lesson, I explain the differences between the six types of tea and explain how SCENTED and BLOSSOMING tea are made too. These are not different categories of tea but instead are styles of tea which can be used for all tea types out there.

Intro - 0:00 White Tea - 3:27 Green Tea - 5:00 Yellow Tea - 7:44 Oolong Tea - 10:00 Black Tea - 13:29 Post Fermented Tea / Pu Erh - 15:41 Scented Tea - 19:47 Blossoming Tea - 22:49 Outro - 23:52

We think you’ll love:

The perfect way to store your tea. Stackable tins which have been designed to keep your tea organised easily.

Organic Oolong processed in nitrogen to increase GABA to 200mg per 100g. Summer rain, apricot jam, wet wood and chestnut honey.

Jing Mai 400 Year Old Gushu PuErh Spring 2018

Delicate pickings of mineral rich Gushu from estimated 400 year old tea trees in Jing Mai. Deep baked bananas, dried apricots, raw pie dough and zesty limes.

Long Jing - Dragonwell

Pre Qing Ming harvest of one of China’s most famous teas. Deep, rich and aromatic with roasted borlotti beans, sweet limoncello and strawberry jam aromatics.